Login

My First Cake

MisterNathan

12 year(s) ago

The only baking I've done in the past was actually cookies (which, like my cake, I made from scratch) when I was younger. Today I decided to bake a cake. It was a bit more dry than I had hoped, so any tips there would be appreciated. I'm a complete novice. :) [img]http://i205.photobucket.com/albums/bb284/MisterNathan/11-1-1.jpg[/img] It's a two layer dark chocolate cake with strawberry topping in between the layers, topped with strawberries and melted dark chocolate poured over it all. The frosting I made myself, as well -- it's a dark chocolate cream cheese frosting.

Bittersweet

12 year(s) ago

O_O;;; Here is your tip: Put it in a box, and mail to Washington, so that I can consume it. ;D But nevermind... Using more milk , or not baking it as long, should help with the moisture problem. But for taking pictures of your food, use a back or sidelighting. If you pay attention to the good food commercials, they all use back or sidelighting, and it for whatever reason makes the food look more appealing. :P

Confederate

12 year(s) ago

It really looks good, Nathan. I wanna bite! :woohoo: Ha, ha! :laugh:

MisterNathan

12 year(s) ago

So I'm trying the recipe again today with a higher volume, one less egg than the recipe called for, and slightly more sugar. It's gonna be a smaller cake (possibly three layers, depending on how I'm feeling), and I'm gonna use the leftovers to make chocolate cake cookies -- some with chocolate chips in them and some with peanut butter added to the batter. Maybe some with both...I haven't decided yet. Basically, Amy and I are celebrating our one year of being together (and one month of being engaged) tonight, so I'm just gonna have fun with it and hope it turns out tasty. Oh, and everything is in the shape of a heart, of course. I'll post pictures when I've finished. :)

TrueTalent

12 year(s) ago