Login

TITHING?!

Phil777

17 year(s) ago

Hi guys, my name is phil, im 25, from australia, im new to mypraize and this is my first post. I thought id kick off a topic which i think is important for christians to rightly divide. i would love to know who tithes to a church, cause if you do, this study I wrote is for you!! God bless =) Phil Tithing Remember, the following discussion addresses the issue of TITHING, not the issue of giving! Giving is totally biblically, and God loves a cheerful giver! Before you pay your tithes next time, you should stop and ask yourself – why am I paying tithes? When I ask Christians that question they mostly answer me “I pay tithes because the bible says to”. Usually then I say “where does it say that?” and funnily enough they usually can’t remember where, but they assure me they have read it before. So next, I say to them, “well if you pay tithes because the bible says to, presumably you will want to pay tithes the WAY the bible says to!! So, if people really want to pay tithes – then lets look at what tithes are and how they are to be paid: 1. Tithes are to be paid in the form of FOOD (Not money!) - the Jews HAD money, but God didn’t ask for their money, he asked for their FOOD! (Lev 27:30-32; Deut 14:23) - This is because the REASON for tithes is that the tribe of Levi (one of the 12 tribes of Israel) were not allotted any land, unlike the other tribes. Instead, their call was to minister fulltime as priests in the temple of the LORD, and as their compensation, God ordained that the other 11 tribes should tithe their food to the Levites, so that they could have food to eat! (Numbers 18: 21-24) - Therefore to obey the bible, you also must pay tithes in the form of food and NOT money! 2. Tithes are to be paid every THREE YEARS (Not every week!) - so you must not pay tithes every week, you must pay every three years as scripture shows (Deut 14:28-29; Amos 4:4; Deut 26:12) 3. Tithes are to be paid TO LEVITE PREISTS!! (Not pastors / chu